Desktop Schools Popup

Select a School

Kindergarten

Welcome to Kindergarten at Oak Ridge!

The District 196 kindergarten program provides an environment where each child is respected as a unique individual. It responds to differences, special needs, interests, temperaments and learning styles. The atmosphere in the classroom is nurturing and inviting. Kindergarten instruction encourages the growth of problem solving, decision making and communication skills, and supports cooperative learning, socialization, healthy self-esteem and creativity.

Growth occurs as children actively participate in concrete, hands-on activities each day. Teachers determine the activities based on the children in their classroom and curriculum frameworks. Children have opportunities to assume increasing responsibilities for self-care and independence.

The kindergarten program fosters important connections between home, school and the community. This is most effective when families and teachers work cooperatively to encourage and support children as they learn and strive to reach their full potential.

At Oak Ridge we strive to nurture the whole child: academically, socially, physically and emotionally. Kindergarten creates a strong foundation for lifelong learning and allows children to gain confidence in friendships, leadership and academics.

Meet Our Teachers

no photograph available

ABIGAIL HERMAN

Kindergarten teacher
Abigail.Herman@district196.org
Voicemail: 83208

Katie Siekmeier

katie siekmeier

Kindergarten teacher
Katie.Siekmeier@district196.org
Voicemail: 83669

Nancy Snodgrass

Nancy Snodgrass

Kindergarten teacher
Nancy.Snodgrass@district196.org
Voicemail: 82704

Ashley Vogel

ashley vogel

Kindergarten teacher
Ashley.Vogel@district196.org
Voicemail: 82709

Jayne Walwrath

jayne walrath

Kindergarten teacher
Jayne.Walrath@district196.org
Voicemail: 82787

no photograph available

Suzy Martin

Kindergarten teacher
Suzy.Martin@district196.org
Voicemail: 82623